he inaugural Parliamentary Pub of the Year awards have seen a Cardiff pub, The Four Elms, nominated by Jo Stevens MP, beat off competition from 13 other entrants from across Britain to claim the title.The awards were held on the 15th of January in the Terrace Marquee in the House of Commons and attended by dozens of MPs, pub industry leaders and supporters of the 14 entrants.

The event, which was the brainchild of the Chair of the All Party Parliamentary Group on Pubs, Toby Perkins, saw nominations from 85 MP’s from the North of Scotland down to Cornwall.

The entrants were whittled down to 14 National finalists as a result of video submissions from the entrants, the finalists videos can be found here: https://twitter.com/ParliPubOTY
At the event MPs and industry bosses were given a handheld device to vote for their choice to claim the prestigious title. With over 30% of the votes, the Four Elms, pipped runner up Kash 22 from Frodsham, Cheshire, nominated by Mike Amesbury MP and third placed The Crown, from Hastings, nominated by Amber Rudd MP.
Toby’s nomination the Chesterfield Arms in Chesterfield which was selected by the panel of judges as the East Midlands regional winner. Emma Clarke and Josh Clarke from the pub travelled down to London for the awards ceremony.

The Newbold Road hostelry was chosen by the judged for its strong commitment to charitable giving, importance to the community and its excellent range of real ales that has resulted in it winning the CAMRA Pub of the Season award.

Toby said: “The interest in the awards, the quality of video entries and the positive coverage of the great and diverse range of pubs in Britain has exceeded all our expectations. The event was a great success, and I’d like to thank Rebecca Pickering from my office, David Wilson of the British Beer & Pub Association and all the MPs and pubs who entered for making it such a success.

Already, people are thinking about how to go one stage further and improve their entries next year, and I hope the awards will go from strength to strength”
To learn more about the Parliamentary Pub of the Year awards click here: https://parlipuboty.wordpress.com/

The 14 nominated finalists were:
Winner: The Four Elms (Jo Stevens Cardiff Central) Wales
Runner Up: Kash 22 (Mike Amesbury, Weaver Vale) North West
Third: The Crown, (Amber Rudd, Hastings & Rye) South East
Yorkshire Winner: Grayston Unity (Holly Lynch MP, Halifax)
North East Winner: The Stapylton Arms (Grahame Morris MP, Easington)
West Midlands Winner: The Robin Hood (Eddie Hughes MP, Walsall North)
East Regional Winner: Kings Arms (Liz Truss MP, South West Norfolk)
East Midlands Winner: Chesterfield Arms (Toby Perkins MP, Chesterfield)
South West Winner: The Westbrook (Claire Perry MP, Devizes)
London Winner: The Alexandra (Stephen Hammond MP, Wimbledon)
Scotland Winner: Brass & Granite (Alan Brown MP, Kilmarnock and Loudoun)
Scotland Runner Up: The Criterion (Stephen Gethins MP, North East Fife)
Wales Runner Up: The Fat Boar Wrecsam (Ian Lucas MP, Wrexham)
North West Runner Up: The Victoria Walshaw (James Frith MP, Bury North)

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search